New Treatment for Lyme: Not Your Average Infection

Lyme isn’t your average bacterial infection, so treatment plans are usually only effective for so long. In addition, my doctor believes I’m suffering from at least one co-infection (aka another tick borne illness like babesia or bartonella). So our plan for now involves swapping the amoxicillin for plaquenil (a common treatment or preventative for malaria). I’ve taken this once before while traveling. I completely forgot the vivid dreams that come along with its consumption. I call them “technicolored hallucinations” because they are unlike the hazy scenes that normally accompany my sleep. While this could be a recipe for disaster, I’m lucky that my trippy slumber has only produced soul-pleasing entertainment with some top notch visuals. Last night I mentally visited various townhouses, only to discover that the ceilings were actually expansive galaxies: midnight purples and blues caked in sparkling stars … magnificent.

I’ve definitely herxed on this medication, with increasing amounts of pain in my joints. Herxes are always bitter sweet. I know that bad shit is dying, but my body usually takes a dive and I lose my regular functioning. My lungs seem to be less affected this time though, which is a bonus. I’m pretty jazzed that I can walk small amounts without huffing and puffing on other pedestrians in my path.

Due to my ongoing neurological issues, I will be starting IVs once weekly of Rocephin. My doctor will increase this IV treatment up to 2-3 times a week if I tolerate it. Then I will start back on the hyperbaric oxygen chamber. I will climb in right after my IVs to give the artful bacterial poos a real run for their money (P.S. I’m sorry I didn’t post more information on HBOT … I’m working on it right now).

With all this medication, I have frequent blood tests in order to make sure my liver and kidneys are functioning well. I’ve rocked all tests thus far! Yippee.

Leave a Reply

