Why I’ve Become That Crazy Lady At The Mall

I’ve become that crazy lady at the mall. The one that overhears your conversation and chimes in. Yes her. She is me. But, why dear God why have I become her?

Today I went shopping for a dress at Anthropologie to wear at an upcoming wedding. I’m not my best after the IV treatment, so I did a lot of “leaning.” I leaned on the clothing racks, on chairs, the walls and the counter at the cash register. Needless to say, I was leaning on the counter when I overheard a discussion about Lyme disease. The woman buying clothes had just been bit by a tick. She was talking about whether or not to go to the doctor. She’d just had a baby and was concerned about antibiotics getting into her breast milk. So, naturally, upon hearing this predicament, I became “the lady.”

I’m not super outgoing so it was a bit painful to interrupt their conversation without knowing the least bit about either of them. I’m sure I turned a nice bright magenta to go perfectly with the pinky golden dress I was buying.

I told her my story. Gave her a bunch of ILADS facts on rates of infection, subpar testing etc. I urged her to go to the doctor. It just so happened the woman working the cash register had a lot to say as well. Her boyfriend had Lyme … So it made me feel less nusto-pants.

From the look on her face … We scared the bajesus out of her. Note to self: Work on your delivery.

Moral of the story (because there always is one) … I’m proud to be the crazy lady at the mall. I’m not going to tattoo a Lyme awareness ribbon on my cleavage or anything, but I will give people the information that no one gave me. I don’t want you to suffer. At all.

And I might buy a green hat … with sparkles … to get into character next time.

2 thoughts on “Why I’ve Become That Crazy Lady At The Mall

Leave a Reply

